photo of rain on window

The Difference by CL Bledsoe

(Please rotate your handheld device to landscape mode to provide maximum width for each line.)

The difference between the rain and the shoe
is a certain amount of moral superiority which

will be, of course, forgotten in the fall. It isn’t
anyone’s fault except those who discovered

the truth of gravity. By rain, of course, I’m
implying the worst week I’ve ever had, worse

than the lamp-humping days, worse than the red
dullness of youth. By shoe, of course, I’m

implying that my soul smells like cheese. But
at least it’s the expensive stuff which tastes

like creamy leather with a name no one
who takes life seriously can pronounce.

CL Bledsoe is the author of five novels including the young adult novel Sunlight, the novels Last Stand in Zombietown and $7.50/hr + Curses; four poetry collections: Riceland, _____(Want/Need), Anthem, and Leap Year; and a short story collection called Naming the Animals. Bledsoe blogs at Murder Your Darlings, He lives with his wife and daughter in Maryland.

Lead image: “Rain days” (via Flickr user Doug Wheller)